Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

National Faculty

Do you have questions?

Email Us

National Faculty & National Faculty Meetings

The National Faculty was established to steward the Canadian Guideline for Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain. This diverse group includes doctors, chiropractors, physical therapists, occupational therapists, psychologists, nurses, researchers, pharmacists and people with lived experience.

The National Faculty meet annually to discuss new research, updates on initiatives and emerging trends in the area of pain management.

Smaller working groups, made up of National Faculty members, meet on an ongoing basis, addressing issues such as patient and public education, knowledge translation to physicians and pharmacists and evaluation of guideline impact.

The most recent National Faculty Meeting was held virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Topics covered at this year’s meeting included an overview of a new systematic review related to the management of acute, non-low back musculoskeletal pain and an update on the Canadian Pain Task Force.

Norm Buckley addresses an audience from a podium at the 2017 National Faculty Meeting